What I Eat In A Day #2

Today I am again sharing with you my meals that I eat throughout a day. Last time I showed you what I ate in a day on a day where I worked out, whereas today I am not working out. Despite this, my calories are only a little bit less. Recently I have been trying to do intuitive eating. I recently got into a pretty bad mindset with my food so I decided to stop tracking my calories all together, and not worry about feeling bad if I wanted a snack.

I find that tracking your food can make you have such a bad relationship with food. You could eat some low calorie food which doesn’t have any nutrients so that you feel better about yourself rather than eating good whole foods. Now I’m not saying I eat perfectly, I do like my chocolate, all I am saying is that I try and eat as healthy as possible. However if I want some sweets, I will have them (but I do try and limit them). As I am not trying to lose weight, I don’t need to be too strict with my diet, but I just want to eat until I am satisfied. I hope this post helps you find some new recipes to try out, and that you find it helpful.

Throughout this day I did not track my calories or nutrients until the next day so that my food choices weren’t dictated by what a calorie tracker said. Spending time tracking every gram of food that you eat isn’t something that is maintainable. Maybe if you have really specific goals that you want to achieve, you should be conscious about what you are eating, but if you are just trying to live your life, it is not necessary.

-BREAKFAST-

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain WeightIf you saw my last What I Eat In A Day, you would have already seen this breakfast however I have added some new components to make it even more tasty. I have really been trying to increase my fruit intake, and eat more so that I am less likely to want to snack on unhealthy foods later in the day. I am trying to avoid drinking dairy milk as I do think that it has a major influence on my skin. I have suffered with pimples since I was probably around 12, and they have never really gone away. Although I do try and reduce my dairy intake, I don’t completely eliminate it. I do know that my protein powder does have whey in it which is dairy, but I don’t think that this is what causes my outbreaks. However I will keep you updated on this topic in later posts.

Ingredients
  • 50g Whole Rolled Oats
  • 150ml Alpro Almond Milk  (25ml in porridge, remaining amount in coffee)
  • 1 Banana Chopped
  • 12.5g (Half a Scoop) MyProtein Cinnamon Danish Impact Whey Protein
  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon
Method
  1. Mix the porridge oats and around 1 cup of water in a bowl before putting in the microwave for 2 min 30 sec (or until desired consistency)
  2. Stir the porridge and make a hole in the centre. Add the milk to the centre before adding the protein powder. Stir together until well combined.
  3. Top the porridge with some cut up banana and sprinkle some cinnamon on top.
Nutritional Information (Approximate)

Calories 336 // Protein 21 g // Carbohydrates 44 g // Fat 8 g // Fiber 7.1 g // Sugar 8 g

-LUNCH-

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain Weight

Recently I have loved switching up my salads a little. Today I have added an egg and some houmous to my salad and have instead used a mixed bag of leaves. As I did add the egg and I was also running low on chicken, I only used about half a serving I would normally have. Either way this salad was so delicious with the houmous as a dressing, and it was also so filling. I will probably continue to eat this salad for a few weeks or so until I get a bit sick of it and then switch it up again.

Ingredients
  • Generous Handful of Mixed Watercress, Spinach and Rocket Salad Leaves
  • 7 Cherry Tomatos
  • 25g of Sweet Chilli Houmous from Tesco
  • 40g Smoky BBQ Chicken Chunks from Tesco
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 50g Cooked Quinoa
  • 1 Poached Egg
Nutritional Information (Approximate)

Calories 476 // Protein 26 g // Carbohydrates 48 g // Fat 23 g // Fiber 18 g // Sugar 23 g

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain Weight

Straight after my salad I was still hungry (mainly because I hadn’t let myself fully digest and process my food yet), that I decided to try out one of these strawberry bear fruit yo yos that made me feel like a kid again. They are pretty much a healthier version of a fruit rollup and I absolutely loved it. It also hit my sweet craving perfectly.

Nutritional Information (Approximate)

Calories 27 // Protein 0.19 g // Carbohydrates 6.3 g // Fat 0.02 g // Fiber 0.8 g // Sugar 3.78 g

-AFTERNOON SNACK-

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain Weight

I tend to have an afternoon snack smack bang in the middle between lunch and dinner to tie me over. I have been loving my new and improved Protein Ball Recipe that I shared with you 2 weeks ago. They taste so delicious and sweet, but are pretty low calorie. I think it is super important to listen to your body and eat a snack if you are getting a bit hungry. You need to trust your bodies natural hunger signals. However if you aren’t 100% sure that your body is hungry, have a glass of water and wait 10 minutes and reassess. But anyway, there isn’t anything wrong with a good healthy snack.

Nutritional Information (Approximate)

Calories 106 // Protein 6 g // Carbohydrates 7 g // Fat 6 g // Fiber 1 g // Sugar 7 g

-DINNER-

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain Weight

Tonights dinner was my own healthier version of a Nandos with this peri peri chicken with spicy rice and salad. It was super yummy and spicy and was so filling (because of the massive amount of rice I ended up making). You could totally make this dairy free by using mayo which doesn’t have any dairy in it and excluding the cheese. And you could probably do without the massive amount of rice I made. Normally I just use a measuring cup to measure out rice but because I wanted to calculate the nutrition I used a scale and it made so much rice. This meal shows that you can make a really tasty meal without using shop bought sauces. This peri peri chicken sauce was so delicious and spicy! I gave the chicken so much flavour.

Ingredients (Serves 2)
  • 1 Red Chilli
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Tbsp White Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Chipotle Paste
  • 2 Tbsp Tomato Paste/Puree
  • Drizzle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (Around a 1 Tsp)
  • 2 Chicken Breast
  • 1 White Onion
  • 1 Yellow Pepper (Or any pepper of choice)
  • 1 Chicken Stock Cube
  • 1 Tsp Ground Turmeric
  • Drizzle of Vegetable Oil
  • 100g Basmati Rice
  • 26g Light Mayonnaise
  • 1 Lettuce Heart
  • 10 g of Shredded Cheese
Method
  1. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees celsius then begin by finely chopping your red chilli into little pieces before rolling and cutting your lemon in half.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the white wine vinegar, the chipotle paste half the red chilli and half the tomato paste with the juice of half the lemon. Put in a tiny drizzle of olive oil and a generous amount of salt and pepper.
  3. Add the chicken to the chipotle tomato marinade and ensure the chicken is well covered. Then put the chicken on a tray lined in foil (to help with cleaning up) and put in the oven for 30 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, boil a kettle, dice the onion and yellow pepper. Then dissolve the stock cube in 300ml of water along with the remaining tomato paste and the turmeric.
  5. Heat a large pan with a lid with a drizzle of vegetable oil on a high-medium heat. Once it is hot, cook the onion and pepper for around 4 minutes until just soft. Then add the rice, tomato stock and remaining chilli and bring to a boil. Then once it has been brought to a boil, reduce the heat to low and cover for 10-15 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, combine the mayonnaise with the juice of half a lime and a small drizzle of olive oil to make a dressing for the lettuce. Roughly chop the lettuce and top with the mayonnaise lemon dressing and a pinch of grated cheese. Once the other two elements are complete, serve all together and enjoy.
Nutritional Information per Serving (Approximate)

Calories 581 // Protein 44 g // Carbohydrates 63 g // Fat 19 g // Fiber 5.1 g // Sugar 13 g

-DESSERT-

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain Weight

Now whenever I skip out on dessert I never feel satisfied. I always try and have something sweet after my dinner to satisfy my cravings and to stop me from being a bottomless pit of an eating machine later in the night. The night time is when I struggle with cravings and wanting to eat everything the most. To try and avoid this, I like to actually just give my body a dessert to stop it from going into a crazy binge mode later on. Yes my dessert may be filled with sugar and dairy, but it won’t kill me, and it won’t affect my body goals. Life is about balance and there is not point being super skinny if you aren’t enjoying something you really love which is eating.

Nutritional Information (Approximate)

Calories 108 // Protein 2 g // Carbohydrates 10 g // Fat 7 g // Fiber 0.2 g // Sugar 8 g

Today I was actually surprisingly full. I really enjoyed all of my meals and my cravings were for the most part kept at bay. As I haven’t been tracking my calories at all recently, it is nice to know that I can trust my bodies natural hunger instincts, and it is good to know that I am in fact meeting all of my nutrient goals. I have really been trying to increase my protein and I think I have achieved that.

Total Day Nutritional Information (Approximate)

Calories 1650 // Protein 100 g // Carbohydrates 176 g // Fat 59 g // Fiber 32 g // Sugar 60 g

I hope you have enjoyed this post and that it has given you some ideas of some meals that you could make yourself. I am not perfect by any means, but I do try and eat wholesome foods. Remember that everyone is different and you may need way more or way less calories than me. Try and just listen to your body to see what you should be doing. Let me know if you want to see more What I Eat In A Day posts in the comments.

What I Eat In A Day to stay healthy and to maintain my weight. Low Calorie, whole foods that your body will love. Healthy || Fitness || Diet || Healthy Diet || Maintain Weight
